Tell me your IDE issues

As some of you already know, I recently became an employee of SmartThings. My job is to improve the IDE. Since I started as a community developer, I have my own list of issues that I’m hoping to improve. I would also like to hear from you about the problems you run into.

If you can split individual issues into separate posts, that would be ideal. If you agree with something someone else has posted, hit the heart icon. That will help me see which issues affect the most people.

I can’t promise to fix everything you tell us for reasons that are familiar to devs everywhere (time involved, priorities, etc). But I will address everything I can.

Issues from this topic

1. Console Logging
  2. Sortable tables
  • Coming Soon
  1. Consistent wording (Device Type, Device Handler, SmartDevice)
  2. Link from device to logging
  3. Download all logs
  4. Improve session handling
  • Available Now: If save fails, you’ll be informed. Your code will be cached (in localStorage) and you’ll be prompted to use it after you login again. There are other session improvements as well, but the code part is the most obvious.
  1. Virtual devices don’t mirror real world device functions
  2. Simulator dies. Make it easy to restart.
  3. Simulator doesn’t have device type preferences
  4. Auto indentation
  5. Find and replace. Browser search is broken.
  • Available Now: Find in code will work. I don’t think we have replace yet. We’re also working on improving how search works.
  1. Color coding for comments
  • Available Now This should go along with general highlighting improvements
  1. View device events from simulator
  2. Change layout of virtual devices
  3. Simulator should mirror mobile apps
  • Work in Progress: This will be an area with ongoing improvement as we catch up to all the new options.
  1. Link line number in error to line in code
  2. Global find/replace
  3. Show number of devices using custom type
  4. Accurate line number in errors