Switch wiring question/problem

I’m not an electrician, but I’ve done plenty of outlet/switch/fixture replacements, and haven’t ever had any problems. I replaced a light switch (not 3 or 4 way) with a GE switch. It worked fine for about 4 or 5 days and then yesterday for some reason the circuit it was on broke. I suspected that switch since it was the only work done. I took it out and it had a burn mark near the load wire. I put the original switch back and when I turn the light on now that breaks the circuit too.

I’m confused about what could have happened. The fact that it worked right for 5 days makes me believe it was wired correctly. The worst that could have happened is I reversed the 2 wires, but that would have been a problem immediately, not 5 days later, right? Not sure what else to do to fix it. Any advice would be helpful.

When you tied your white neutral wires together could one of them actually have been a unmarked “hot” wire? I found one of those cases in my garage where the electrician did not mark the white wire when he ran it to a split outlet. He tied the white wire to the red for the second half of the outlet in a separate junction box so I originally had no way of knowing that the white I was wire capping with all the rest energized the entire neutral bundle…

Mine would work but would often strobe and would blow a gfci that was in a different room but on the same circuit. The electrician had made the white/red connection in the same junction box as that gfci outlet. I did find burn marks on the GFCI when I removed it, but I think that was actually from a different problem as all the wires were not secured and when I pulled out the outlet the wires came unattached. I think they were probably arcing in the box…

Just something to check anyway. Take a multimeter and test your whites to see?