Suggested Improvement to Reboot "Offline" Hubs that are inaccessible

I’m one of many who experienced their v2 Hub going offline today and yesterday. The connection seemed to flap for about an hour before finally not connecting. We were advised via email and the status page to reboot the hub by pressing the button on the back or removing batteries and doing a battery cycle once whatever issue was happening with the ST cloud was resolved.

Quite a few folks here use a hub to monitor or control a vacation home that may be quite some distance from them, so this isn’t really a practical solution all the time. I’m concerned as well. I have routines set up to turn lighting on and off when we’re away from home, and control various home systems. What if I had not been home at the time?

I’m an IT Consultant by trade - I do infrastructure for large enterprises. Part of my job when designing or reviewing systems is looking for redundancy and automation, and making improvements. With so many places doing lights-out infrastructure from across the world in some cases we always need to have a way to perform functions remotely as if we were in the same room.

To that end, here’s my suggestions on how to handle these situations. Obviously it’d be nice if they didn’t occur. But I’m in IT. I know that stuff happens, and that it’s not always expected. So the best course of action is to have failback routines.

ST should consider taking a page from the vendors in the enterprise wireless space, like Cisco, Aerohive, Aruba, etc. Many times a company’s wireless access points are mounted in locations that aren’t easily reached - like a warehouse ceiling 20-30ft up. It’s not practical to bring out a bucket truck and have to reset each one by hand when they can’t talk to their controller or master. Two things happen when this connection is lost: