Student wireless project

I’m not sure if this is the right place for this. I am a student at the University Of Michigan. I am currently working on a project to control a device that we are building using an android app and we are thinking about trying to utilize the smart things existing hub. We will build our own android app that will communicate with our own cloud server. We would like to use the hub to receive packets over wifi and transmit packets to our own hardware using some other wireless protocol.

We are wondering if the hub system can do this or if it can only be used with the existing SmartThings app and hardware.

thanks!

I’m not a programmer, but you should be able to do this using the published API documents.

You wouldn’t necessarily need to use Smartthings Official hardware, but you could use zwave/zigbee relays, or an ST Thingshield to interface with ST app / hub

Edit: The hub doesn’t have wifi, it would be able to send receive info over wifi on the same lan.

Also re-reading

I don’t know if it will interface the way you would like. You would send commands to ST cloud, It would send commands to hardware attached to the hub and you would be able to get information back from the st cloud.

Again i’m no programmer check out the Developer Docs for more info.

1 Like

I don’t think SmartThings is going to work for you. It connects via ethernet, not Wi-Fi. So its cloud to cloud integrations are all through the Internet. It has limited, it has limited, and to some extent broken, support for LAN communications like TCP or UDP.

The SmartThings hub is a single plastic box that contains a Z wave controller, zigbee coordinator using the home automation profile, and the ethernet connector. There’s a Bluetooth radio, but it’s not turned on yet.