ST app quickly gets to be a mess

I am new to ST, only had it a couple of weeks. I only have a couple of light switches and a garage opener. I have also created a few simulated things for testing and learning purposes. But what I have noticed is, the ST app quickly gets cluttered and difficult to manage. I have several routines and modes. Several apps and yet more apps under coRE. So multiple control mechanisms. On top of that I have configurations in Tasker, SharpTools and IFTTT. It is already difficult to know what is doing what and when. I can only imagine that once I have a lot of things, it will be impossible. Any advise how to manage this scrawl? Maybe combine apps, and routines that work on the same things? I understand that Tasker, SharpTools and IFTTT need to be managed in their own way, but I would at least like to get the ST app streamlined. There must be a better way to organize this mess and easily find the source of a problem when it occurs? Any tips to keep it all organized?

1 Like

Agree. They need to revamp the UI and allow us more control over how the app lays out the icons and Things.

1 Like
  1. In place of various random SmartApps and routines, you may find it is a little better organized to do everything in CoRE, because then at least all rule logic is in the same format.

2. Ways to “view” the configuration have been hoped for a long time. Customers with complex environments have taken to building elaborate spreadsheets and hand-drawn charts.

3. For a simplified day-to-day control interface (just viewing status and turning Things on/off/dim…), please consider SmartTiles … though revised version ActionTiles is coming soon. The concept is helpful to many, many people.

1 Like

tgauchat,