Sonos as alarm

(Andy) #1

How do I set up Sonos to play a burglar sound/alarm when a sensor is triggered? I tried using a smartapp listed in the “sound” section but could not 1)set up multiple players for same event and 2) have Sonos to be activated in a reliable manner! Plus, today the smartapp I was using has disappeared from the list of available smartapps. I’m puzzled!

Really, any workaround to setting up an alarm when a sensor is activated would be helpful. I am mentioning Sonos as I have this already available to me but I could consider a separate plug-in siren if any is compatible with ST. Problem is that a burglar system without a siren seems pointless!

Thanks.

(Matt) #2

Also really want this functionality.

I am new to smart things but I have a work around that has been working for me for a few days now.

First I downloaded a siren sound, there are loads of siren sounds that to choose from with a quick google search. I used audacity (http://audacityteam.org) to create a 20 min repeating version of the alarm and added it to my Sonos library.

I then used Sonos Mood Music Smartapp to play this alarm when any one of a number of sensors are activated. If you set it to only come on in away mode it seems to work.

All you need to do then is set the mode to away when you leave the house. Make sure you set the mode to home when you get back otherwise you will jump a bit when you get in (but you can automate this too).

Alarm stays on for however long you you repeat the siren sound (in my case 20 mins). I also set the volume to 100% to give it some really power.

Sonos as a security alarm
(CB) #4

This was something that I felt should exist, so I made it! (well kinda)

I have it working, but it is in very alpha stages. I figured I would share what I have at the moment, but it is a work in progress.

GitHub - SonosWithSpeechAndAlarm.groovy