[EDGE] Awair Air Quality Sensor using Local API: Connection Closed issue (link to driver in post #39)

Hey guys,

I am new to Smartthings and I just started writing an Edge Device Driver using a Smartthings Hub V3 and an Awair Air Quality Sensor. The idea is to make a driver that enables the above devices to communicate with each other via Local API and to pull up data from Awair Local API as a JSON string.

I have tried mimicking the sample driver from this tutorial here:

Tutorial | Creating Drivers for LAN Devices with SmartThings Edge - Developer Programs / Tutorials - SmartThings Community.

However, I keep getting the GET request closed (I was getting a timeout before) when I try to do a socket http request to the IP address (I manage to get connections with other websites/local IP addresses).

I hope that you guys can help me out with this. Thank you very much in advance.

Welcome to the SmartThings Community, @sleepdeprived!
Can you share the request you made over a DM, please? This is to avoid posting private info here

Hi @nayelyz !
Sorry if this question seems obvious, but how exactly do I send you a DM? I’m still really new to the community.

No problem, @sleepdeprived. We already got your email, we can continue our conversation there :smiley:
Just as a reference, to send a DM, you can enter the user’s profile and you’ll see the button below in the right side of the page, near to the top:

Any luck with this?

Also interested, I had the awair local DTH that I’m currently using but with the example provided for LAN devices I was not able to figure out the new edge driver stuff. The overall logic isn’t difficult to understand of what it needs to do I just can’t figure out the new edge stuff. I have a post on here I can share with the old DTH local awair code.

here is already existing edge driver for AWAIR devices i found it today

works better than i was expecting with more advanced settings than ever before

just install the driver below