Smartthings and IBeacons (discussion prior to 2015)

Estimate is doing a 3 IBeacon developer package for homes for 99$.

Something like this would be awesome to use with my phone or a jawbone and then smartthings would know where I am in my house at all times not just kind of guessing with motion sensors. There are many ways this could improve the automated house and add a huge plus to the smartthings Eco system. I hope smartthings takes notice or a developer as I have zero experience with coding.
Thanks Jason Dunn

2 Likes

This would be great! Of all things to add to Smart Things I think this would be one of the coolest. Right now if I am sitting very still on the main floor my lights will turn off. I also have to have a 20 minute delay before they turn off to keep it reasonable. With beacons I could do away with motion sensors and be more accurate. The price is also cheaper than motion sensors.

1 Like

I see that Juan ( today’s developer spot light) has had experience with IBeacons and smartthings I hope he sees this post and has a chance to give us an idea of what he was able to do with them.

There is no Bluetooth in ST hub, which makes ibeacon or any bluetooth integration tricky. Some support would be possible with smartphone in the scene, but I wish they would add BT communication to the hub so that BT works whether I’m around with my phone or not.

1 Like

iBeacon integration wouldn’t really benefit from bluetooth in the SmartThings hub as you don’t carry the hub around with you in your house.

The iBeacons must know which you are closest to in order to provide any functionality, so the user will always need something on their person while in the home if they want it to follow them.

1 Like

@Ronny_Carr - Bluetooth in the hub would allow Smartthings to communicate to/from iBeacons. Your phone would still be the primary way for interfacing, but Smartthings could perform actions when your phone and specific iBeacons interact.