Smart Thermostat Ransomware

Thought this was an interesting read. Security is always a concern, but this makes it more real.

Interesting and thanks for the share. As a cyber security professional myself, this is especially of interest to me. I wonder how much liability the manufacturers would take in these scenerios? Since these thermostats are mostly cloud based, there is a smaller risk of data loss and a replacement device fixes your issue. Would nest replace a bricked software device? My guess is they will fall on the warranty if it’s still covered and your out of luck if it’s not.

Honeywell? The tweet suggests Nest?

The arbitrary code execution involves getting someone to load the malware via the SD Card

The thermostat in question has a large LCD display, runs the operating system Linux, and has an SD card that allows users to load custom settings or wallpapers. The researchers found that the thermostat didn’t really check what kind of files it was running and executing

6 Likes

I don’t see how it makes it real. Is like you open the door to a stranger, let him take away your stuff and then you call the police and say you’ve been robbed. Someone has to manually insert the SD card into your thermostat to load the virus.

At least the article says:

“this is not an easy attack to pull off, as it requires people to actively download and transfer malware on their thermostats.”

1 Like

Yeah, but it could be in the disguise of a wallpaper, so the victim would unknowingly help the attacker. Which is a plausible way in. Hard to pull of, but plausible.

because your thermostat needs a SD card slot right? :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Well, then my example with the big bad burglar, just turned into a Victoria Secret model, but you still need to open the door and welcome her in your house to take your stuff…

2 Likes

Sounds strangely like a few of my realtionships

1 Like

Well, that would teach you to marry them. You should have just give them an SD card instead …