SharpTools/Tasker for presence detection (2022)

New to Life360. Is there a way to integrate it into SmartThings now when Groovy is going away? How do I link Life360 to SmartThings? Or is there a better way for presence detection using Android phones (and Xplora watches)?

1 Like

See the following:

1 Like

Thanks! I’m using SharpTools and I’ve paid for Tasker and the SharpTools/Tasker plugin. But I’m a beginner with Tasker. Would you mind sharing more details about how you do this?

1. Create virtual presence sensor in ST and give SharpTools access to the sensor in the Sharptools SmartApp.

2. Open the Sharptools app and manipulate the sensor a couple times.

3. In Tasker set up 2 Tasks. Select plug-ins, Sharptools, find your virtual presence sensor. 1 task will make it present and 1 will make it not present.

4. In Tasker set up 2 Profiles in Tasker. Connected to WiFi and not connected (wifi invert). Link you Profiles to the appropriate Tasks

Thanks! I’ve managed to create tasks and profiles that reacts to Wifi Connected and Not Wifi Connected. And Sharptools sets the virtual presence sensor to on if it’s off. But when I disconnect wifi I get “Result: Unexpected error: -1” from Tasker and status if the virtual presence sensor is not changed to off in Sharptools (even though the Tasker profile is changed to Not Wifi Connected).

But there’s nothing strange here? Tasker Share

The other question, if I’m going to setup the same thing for my wife’s phone, will she also need to pay for Tasker and Tasker plugin? Or can we use my credentials also on her Android phone?

Did you build the Not Connected to WiFi Profile exactly the same as the Connected to WiFi Profile, except for checking the “invert” box for disconnect profile?

If you did and it doesn’t work I would delete it and rebuild it. I had the a similar problem building a power failure task yesterday. I fixed it by deleting and rebuilding.

My wifi disconnect profile: