Self opening gate when near [NEEDS UPDATING]

hello, I’ve been using the “search” function but it didn’t solve my problem.
I’m quite new in the Smarthings world, but I like very much.
I’ve been using automations for some time now, and all work perfectly except one.
my Gate is smart, and can be opened with Alexa, and SmartThings. I tried creating an automation so that when I (or any member of my family) arrive at 250mt from the gate it’ll open automatically. there are 2 issues:
1- if for example I leave home at 8.00am (and open the gate manually from inside the house), the automation will automatically start at 8.01…this is very annoying, because the gate will stay open for hours (unless I go to the app and click “close”). I think this is because when I leave home the GPS will tell Smarthings that I’m less than 250 meters away, and then it’ll open. is there any way I can fix this? (this happens with all the members of my family.)
2- this happens only with my father’s phone: he has to wait like 10-20 seconds in front of the gate for it to open automatically…it’s like the GPS signal is delayed and slow.

i have an iPhone XS Max, my sister iPhone X, my. brother and father iPhone 7…all updated to the last FW.

hope you can help me, and I’m sorry for my bad English…but I live in Italy!

I’m not able to upload the screenshots from the app.

Actually your English is quite good! The apps location is notoriously bad. Have you considered using Life 360 integration as a presence sensor. It’s quite reliable and also uses a smaller geofence, been using it for some time now and it fires my automations correctly every time. For youre first issue, you could try adding a delay to the automation but of course that would also delay the automation when someone arrives. That’s quite tricky to work around

i see what you mean. but so your think that is the bad how the SmartThings app uses the GPS, and not the GPS of the phone it selves?