Roomba+SmartThings+Particle Core

First off, my name is Camden Krupala. I am a Electrical Engineering student from Texas. Got my SmartThings system a couple months ago and have messing around with it ever since.

Long story short, I wanted a cheap way to integrate my Roomba into my SmartThings system so I wrote some code and made a tutorial on how to get it set up for anybody who wants to try it. It’s not anything fancy, basic “clean”, “dock”, and “stop” commands as well as switch functionality so it can be set up to trigger when people leave the house, etc. A special thanks to the Particle team who has a fantastic write up on wiring the Roomba and Core module.

Currently, I have only tested this code with the Roomba 880, though I imagine it should work well out of the box for most.

I made a Sway that will walk you through the majority of the wiring/setup. You can find it here.

If you have any questions, encounter any problems, or have suggestions, feel free to post here or email me at camdenkrupala@outlook.com. I will be updating this periodically over the rest of the Summer.

I’m also working on a short video to demonstrate its basic functionality!

If you like this project think about donating too. :smile:

Thanks everybody!

16 Likes

as soon as i get a new battery for my vacuum i’m going to try this! thanks for sharing

Mother of god…removes sunglasses…I have a(nother) weekend project!

Awesome, can’t wait to see it. Please post pics and videos when you have them.

This is pretty cool… Just out of curiosity, what does this accomplish for you though? My roomba kind of does it’s thing and I don’t think about it which is nice. Occasionally it gets lost or rams it’s charging dock 20 miles away from where it’s supposed to be but it’s one of those “self contained” solutions that I don’t see a need to take any further, and I get some crazy “problem solutions” going some nights when I’m looking at things around the house.