[OBSOLETE] Roomba 980 Smartthings google home/alexa (2016)

Guys, i am just too excited not to share this! Thank you for this pretty AWESOME community for all the help/suggestions/codes etc.
This is beyond cool.
And my wife is SUPER happy she doesn’t even need to move out of bed now to vacuum the house lol.
Anyhow :slight_smile: I wanted to share a quick video of Google Home / Amazon Alexa integration with SmartThings and Roomba.
Hope you will appreciate this as much as i did lol.

3 Likes

How did you get the Roomba to communicate with ST?

I have a Roomba 980 and would love this.

if you have specific questions, ping me… the thread doesnt have clear cut instructions, so if u get confused let me know.

Any idea if it should work with older roomba versions?

The 900 series is the only one with WiFi built in. Otherwise you need the Thinking Cleaner attachment:

This looks awesome! I just got a roomba 960 and google home and smart things. Since I’m a programming newb, can you help guide on how you set this up? Where/how do I even start to connect my ST to the roomba?
Thanks

Read this thread:

in essence you need to:
Enable GitHub in ST.
Port into the roomba code.
sniff the roomba for its username and password
modify the roomba code with ur user/password
create new device from code
add the roomba
hook ur google home to ur network
add smartthings to the google home
u will now have the roomba automated.
i know what i wrote here is an extremely high level, but to save duplicate explanations and entries, first read the link i sent u and please feel free to ask specific questions as you are reading and not understanding (it can be a bit overwhelming if you never did this before) . but please read, and we’ll answer whatever specific question you have during the process.

1 Like

Any idea if you can make it dock via Google Home? I can get it to start and stop, but I can’t see how to tie the dock command into things.