[RELEASE] Use Switches to set Lighting Scenes, Colors, Color Temperature/dimming

I very recently purchased the SmartThings hub with the intention of controlling several color temperature bulbs in the living room. It works pretty well, except syncing the bulbs together was a pain; I tried “Dim with Me,” but it didn’t control color temperature (I wanted the ability to have cooler light when the lights were on full, and warmer light when set to ‘movie dim’ mode).

So, I wrote this up (note: I am not a java/groovy developer by trade; the code I write for work is all visual block programming. This is probably really poorly coded, but it works). This SmartApp takes as an input anywhere from 1 to 5 switches. Honestly, I don’t know why you’d ever use just 1…but anyways, you can set individual color temperature, color, and dim levels for the selected bulb(s) based on which switch was pressed.

I don’t have an actual momentary switch on my network yet, so I created virtual switches in the IDE, using the ‘momentary button tile’ as the device type. If you have actual momentary buttons on your ST hub, those should work with this app as well.

I didn’t include outright on/off control, but set the dim level to ‘0’ and it turns the light off, any other value turns it on. Additional on/off control seems…unnecessary, in this case.

Anyways, if this fits your use case, please let me know how it works for you. If it would work but you’d like something changed, let me know and I’ll see if I can work through what you need.