[OBSOLETE] Trend Setter

Trend Setter - A SmartApp for grouping devices

Read First

I am not usually one for releasing stuff I write because I am my own worst critic and usually self destruct before putting anything out into the general public (I’ve revised this post more times than I’d like to count). I am trying to change that behaviour…

Although I am a software engineer by trade, I am not a Java/Groovy developer so I may not have written some of the code in the most efficient way. I expect this to change from feedback and as my knowledge grows.

I tend to find I use the app to control a lot of things more than anything else so this is useful for that. I have only used this on an Android phone and can’t be sure how it’ll behave on an iOS device due to the parity issues between Android and iOS apps so give no guarantee of how well it’ll work for you.

If people actually want to use this SmartApp, I will attempt to maintain it and add additional features when I can. I am generally quite busy and was fortunate enough to have some time to work on this to get it to where it is. Pull requests are welcome.

Anyway, I’ve been putting off posting this long enough. I hope this is of use to someone or that someone will tell me that what I’ve done is pointless and there is a better solution :smiley: Either way, it was a good learning experience.

What is Trend Setter?

Trend Setter is a SmartApp for grouping together devices for synchronised control and/or data aggregation using virtual devices that act as a controller device and interface for other devices in the group. At present there are 4 group types:

• Switch - Group switch control
  • Dimmer - Group level/switch control
  • Colorful Light - Group colour/level/switch control
  • Power Meter - Averaged total power usage for group with High/Medium/Low usage indicator based on previous data (Experimental, unfinished and probably very inaccurate)

Why did I make this?