Regenerate/maintain SmartThings Rules for things across hardware/software lifetimes

Surely, I am not the only one with this problem:

You have everything in your Smart Home knitted together and purring and then a hardware failure occurs. With SmartThings, replacement hardware will come with its own/new device id that will not be referenced by the old rules. All of these references have to be tracked down and changed. Did/can you find them all? How do you know? Good luck. It is way worse if the hardware failure was the SmartThings hub itself. Start all over. People have been complaining about that forever.

I am a new SmartThings Edge Driver developer and run into this issue every day. In my development cycle, device ids are like tissue paper: I blow my nose into them, toss them out and create new ones. This breaks all the Rules.

So, I have started to script my rules in Python. As input, these scripts take my inventory of devices and cross reference their ids by the unique labels that I (and my Edge Drivers) give them. Output is SmartThings Rules JSON input that can be applied with the CLI. All of the software build/deploy dependencies are specified using Gnu Make so that a change in inventory or rule source will automatically be reflected in the deployed SmartThings Rules at my Location.

I am building my solution to address my limited needs but I can imagine a much richer solution that would support the whole SmartThings Rules API. The upside to this solution is that it addresses the stated problem and it is now easier for me to write, maintain and deploy my rules. The downside is that I have to maintain this infrastructure and that none of it is accessible through the SmartThings App.

Am I the only one?

1 Like

Definitely not the only one: this has been a weakness of the smartthings architecture from the beginning. No backup/restore and only rarely a migration tool. (Right now there isnā€™t a migration tool.)