Question about iOS app downgrade

I am considering making the switch from Android to iPhone.

One concern I have is Apple is much more strict about what you can and cannot install.

When SmartThings releases a broken version of the android app I simply install an older .apk file that I have backed up on my phone.

Is there a way to do this in iOS ?

I tried google searches on this topic but mostly found instructions for JailBroke device which I don’t plan on doing.

Sorry if this is too newbie a question but I have zero experience with iPhones so please bear with me :slight_smile:

Hi @Ron, I’m sure the experts will chime in, but Ido not believe you can. Once you have an older version, I believe you can hold off updating apps.

I made the switch from Apple to Android, so I’m curious why you’re contemplating Android to Apple?

Ron, I would agree with John.

The IPhone will tell you an update is available but won’t force you to install it. Many would advise that you not update immediately but allow others to try the update first then watch for posts either positive or negative before installing the update yourself. So far, I have never been burned by any updated app or IOS upgrade but others certainly have posted some negative experiences.

The problem with this strategy is that I may have a bug nobody finds and I am the first. So this is a problem. I have been the first to report many issue on the Android Side. This is a big problem for me because I have often needed to revert apps. Especially, SmartThings.

I am finding more and more Android apps are poorly written because developers don’t really test well. With iPhone there are less variations so it either works or doesn’t with Android all too often apps says works on Galaxy, HTC not supported etc