Private Data Delete: this will leave the hub unusable

Trying to be secure with my private data, I accepted the option to delete in the Smartthings App. Unknowingly and not warned, I told Smarthrhings to delete my hub and all devices. Not sure if I should be upset with myself or wonder why Smartthings should be more detailed on what “personal data” means.

Now I have a configed hub and cannot get the Smarthings App to reconginize it. I cannot find any posts to do this. Only option seems to be a factory reset. Also, not seeing anything in the IDE so I assume the delete private data was also done on the servers.

Is a full factory reset on the hub and a start over in order for me?

Yikes. Sounds like it.

To be clear, did you choose this option in the app under settings?

Yeah, unfortunately I did. Obviously personal data means something different in Smartthings than normal. Fortunately I am just getting into this and only have a dozen devices to reconfigure and a few scenes.

We are in the “new normal“ now, post GDPR. This is a European regulation that went into effect last year and requires that companies allow individuals to delete any “personal information.“ Doing so means you will no longer be able to use the service, because as a primarily cloud-based system, smartthings keeps a lot of information about you as part of providing you with the cloud.

This is detailed in the privacy policy which is linked to above the delete option.

https://support.smartthings.com/hc/en-gb/articles/360000834223-General-Data-Protection-Regulation-GDPR-FAQ

https://www.smartthings.com/uk/privacy

It is not mandatory to provide any of the personal data described above to SmartThings, but if you choose not to, you may not be able to receive any of the Services described below, access certain parts of our websites, or receive information from us that you have requested.
Personal Data Collected Automatically