Porch Light aka Please Don't Burgle Me

There must be a way to integrate the ST into an outdoor enclosure I.E. one of those old timey light enclosures on the front porch. I’m a long haul trucker. I had thought GE Link but that would probably cause a fire. If I leave the porch light on 24/7 it’s a sign saying this guy ain’t home. If I leave it off I feel that’s even worse. Would love to be able to click a button on my phone and have the light go on and turn it off in the AM when I stop for Gas.

I could use a photosensitive light, however it’s under an long eave so it would always be on. Also if it matters I am a renter so no rewiring the outlet.

Thanks

Also the fixture is attached to the wall and only a light socket is available. I had thought of an adapter to go (socket -> socket to plug adapter -> ST smart outlet -> new socket -> bulb) but not only is that rube goldberging it, but also would not fit in fixture.

Can you replace the switch with this:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/419zwaQ98qL.AA160.jpg

You could then use a lumen and/or motion sensor such as AEON multisensor or use an away from home app that turns it on and off periodically.

But I guess as a renter this isn’t an option?

I would think the heat issue with the GE Link is more likely a reliability issue than safety. In other words, the light might not be able to handle the heat and the electronics fail. An incandescent light is much much hotter.

i have a Link outside in an enclosure and it’s been fine so far through some heavy rain and snow. I have it set to come on at sundown and turn off at sunrise. They may get warm but incandescent lights get warm too, so it’s at least worth a shot.

There’s no way a GE Link bulb is more likely to cause a fire than an incandescent light of the same lumen output. As long as the fixture you’re installing it in is rated for the wattage of the Link bulb (13W at the most), you’re fine.