OMG - Accidentally blew it ALL away!

I’m not a novice at SmartThings - click on my profile. But in trying to get ST to re-recognize my phone as a presence detector, which apparently you cannot do without deleting it and readding, which requires you change EVERY SmartApp setting using it, which is impossible in some cases without deleting routines that otherwise won’t have a presence detector left… (good grief they have terrible usability…)

I deleted everything. Not sure how, but the Location, Hub and everything else are all gone.

What the heck?

I don’t see any way to undo or to backup and restore. That’s a significant hunk of work.

I’ve emailed support also, but their traditional three-month turn-around time doesn’t give me much hope. Am I screwed? Time to switch platforms since this one finally kicked me off anyhow?

1 Like

Oh, and guess what else… if you do blow it all away, you can’t rebuild it either… you need the “welcome code” from the original packaging. I’m not kidding! The hub is trash, unless their support staff can fix that, which I’d doubt.

Don’t doubt that for a second. I’ve contacted support before when I was rebuilding (because I didn’t build the way I should have the first time) and they were super responsive and had no issues getting back to me with my welcome code to use. Quite literally they had me all sorted in less than an hour.

4 Likes

Sorry to hear what happened . If you get it fixed and need to do something like this again here is an option. It sounds like you only have one presence sensor and deleted apps where it was a required field? If so, next time create a virtual presence sensor to fill the space while you fix your phone.

2 Likes

Well, the support team has a history. They don’t even get to work for about three hours, and let’s not forget that I’ve had a Publication Request in “review” for 5 months with no response. They seem to be more miss than hit.
Apparently they told another victim it could be several days.