No Neutral Wiring

First let me qualify I am new to smart writing and learning slowly on home electrical circurtry. I have read numerous threads here about no neutral then you cannot use most typical smart switches. I understand and agree with this. I even ordered a Aeotec Nano Switch because it supports no neutral wiring.

When wiring the Aeotec switch, it jumps off the hot wire “L” (my wire jumps the home run off the black over to the wbite at the light box) over to the the Neutral “N”. I have to think there is a resiistor in the nano device to lower the 120V down to a low voltage to just power the device. If so, if we know how much say a GE Smart Switch needs to power the device off the neutral, is it possible a stand alone resistor to jump off the hot wire work?

This idea would add to the cost of a switch but for the multitude of us in older homes with home runs to the light first, this would seem to be a lower cost solution than rewiring our homes.

Comments please and be nice. I am a newbie in all.aspects and just trying to reason through this. :grinning:

Thanks!

1 Like

The term “jump” is not very clear in your description. If there is follow-up, I assume you mean connect, but that may not be what you mean in all cases.

To power any device you need a difference between line and neutral so that electricity flows. In any smart switch that doesn’t require a neutral, it creates that difference by allowing a minimal amount of electricity to flow through the “switch” even when it is “off”. The hope is that the amount of electricity allowed to flow will make the switch work, but not the load. That’s not always the case, though.

I think I see what you are saying, but the switch has to be designed to work that way. Running a resistive load bypass around a GE switch wouldn’t work, I don’t think. You get points for creative thinking, though.

2 Likes

Welcome!