No battery status for a few devices

I’m relatively new to ST device troubleshooting as most things I have all worked properly the first time. However, I have the following devices that show nothing for the battery levels:

Aeotec Recessed Door/Window Sensor Gen 5 (I have 3 of these–one works perfect, one shows 0% battery and the other shows no battery info)
FirstAlert CO/Smoke/Fire Alarm (I have 2 of these–one works perfect and the other doesn’t show the battery level)
FirstAlert Fire/Smoke Alarm (I have 1 of these that does not show the battery level)

All of the above are Z-wave. For each, I’ve tried the following troubleshooting steps:

1. Remove the device and Re-add it to the Z-wave network.
  2. On the Hub, clicked “Repair Z-wave network”
  3. Waited a week or so since install to see if it will eventually work itself out.
  4. On the IDE, I confirmed the device types for the non-working ones were the same for the working ones.

Any other things to try?

FYI I have 1x ST open/close sensor (a new one that takes a coin cell, Zigbee)
that has read 0% for the last couple weeks, but it still reports temperature. I haven’t tried to fix it.

I have a bunch of ecolink contacts that always show 100% (almost a year installed). Looking at the messages sent from the device, they don’t report battery levels (or ST does not have that message logged)

I believe some zwave devices, especially ones with ultra long battery life (Think ecolink advertises 5 years) are frugal on the messages they send out.

edit: I just checked one of my ecolinks, battery is now 83%. Looked at events in ST don’t see any logged. So sometime in the last month or so it sent a message. The ide will only show messages from the last 7 days. My other 2 show 100% still.

I have a bunch of the ecolink devices.

8 report 100%
7 report "–"
1 reports 61%

1 Like