Newbie here...basic question

I just finished building my house and I’m looking to start some automation items…

One of the first things on my list, is…

My wife goes to bed earlier than I do, but she always leaves her lamp on…I’d like to be able to remotely turn her lamp off after I get into bed. That part is pretty simple I think…but the part that I’m not sure is there, is for her to still be able to control it with the normal twist switch in the lamp. Is this doable?

Thanks in advance

Not really. If you turn the twist switch off at the lamp, then you interrupt the power to the light bulb and nothing can bring it back except twisting the switch back.

But, my living room lamps do have dimmer modules on them from SmartThings that when you turn the switch on, I guess there is a little current allowed to go through them because they will then turn on.

These are the ones I have on my lamps:

Hey There Chad,

There are a couple of answers to your question so allow me to break them down for you a little and they really depend on what smart hardware you choose to use…

Smart Bulb:
The first thing you could choose to use would be a smart bulb. This would allow you to remotely control the lamp providing power was supplied to the bulb. Assuming power is supplied, you could remotely turn it on or off, and include it in automations.

The problem comes with the use of the physical switch on the lamp that you mention; when this switch is off, power is cut off to the bulb and thus you wouldn’t be able to control it, say to turn it back on. The switch on the lamp in essence breaks the power connection to the bulb and as such no power means no smart functionality. In order to control the bulb again, you would need to physically turn the switch on after which you could control it.

Smart Receptical: