New guy in need of help!

ok, so i am sure there are thousands of post in here that are the same opening line, but i am going to give it a try. I am brand new to HA i was looking at the lowes IRIS system only because i was not aware that the systems had come so far, from poorly built relays and highly expensive professional installs. After about 3 days of forum reading I am definitely looking to go with ST, here are my questions (I am traveling outside of the country right now and a 30 second youtube clip takes about 5 minutes to load so i am sure its addressed somewhere i am just not able to find it).

1. How intuitive are the rule engine’s can i set up if___ then ____ without using another platform like IFTTT?

2. if it is intuitive can a single device be linked to multiple scenarios? if in night mode and motion detector 1 detect motion turn on hue at dimmest setting and also have it used for a date night scenario if in date night mode same hue light glow red and dim? if in away mode and motion 1 detects motion turn on light (ultimately i will add a camera system to send a video feed but i cant seem to find a supported camera system yet) and send video to a mobile device or a link via sms to direct you to the feed.

3. I cant seem to find a clear answer on what scenes are, my understanding is something like this for example if the system detects via geo fence user A approaching home it can turn on the outside lights (if it’s z wave and programmed) unlock the side door and turn on a specified light open the garage? am in on the right track?

4.I plan on having several devices around the house, my phone and tablet wife’s phone and tablet and an extra ipad we have to use as a stay at home remote, will i be able to add the app to this many devices and control the same system? and will i have to set up all of the rules on each individual device or does the cloud setup circumvent that?