FAQ: Networking and Reducing Channel interference between WiFi and Zigbee

Continuing the discussion from [RELEASE] Keenect V1.1.0, pressure protection release:

Wanted to start a thread on best practices, tools and general discussion on wifi networking and channel interference…

I am using several Android apps to manage my network, but I am no RF engineer so it’s always good to hear from others on how they manage their networks. To get started, here is the diagram I’ve been using to limit the interference in my home…

source: http://fosiao.com/content/zigbee-and-wifi-rf-channels

Also, another interesting article, is this:

8 Likes

Good diagram, but I think it might be misleading for the subject at hand. Although the Zigbee protocol is frequency agile, SmartThings’ implementation is not. Whatever frequency you are randomly assigned is what you got (which can be verified in the IDE, My Hubs). In my case, the hub is on Zigbee channel 15. Although it’s between channels of the 2.4 wifi band, because the signals are not zero bandwidth (typically 20 MHz), I still have to avoid that part of the spectrum on my router.

(Edited the reference to wifi channel avoidance; I misread the diagram first time around. :sleeping: )

3 Likes

:arrow_up: This.

The SmartThings hub is a very inexpensive device. Its Zigbee coordinator is pretty limited compared to more expensive devices. As @Mr_Lucky said, it cannot change its Zigbee frequency, either on the fly or as a user request. Whatever it was set to at the factory is what you’re stuck with. So, to be honest, “best practices” from a network engineering standpoint just don’t apply to a device of this type.

The best things you can do with a SmartThings hub to limit Wi-Fi interference:

A) put your smartthings hub at least 3 m from your Wi-Fi router. Also keep it away from metal.