Netgear Arlo + Smarthings switch

Hi,

So at weekend a number of Arlo IFTTT recipes became available. Great, and thanks Netgear! It’s about time.

Is it possible to setup something that automates the following??

Switch virtual switches on (that control outdoor lighting via Fibaro Duel Relay) if Arlo detects motion, then, switch off after x minutes?

Similarly, is it possible to activate/deactivate Arlo based on Smartthings routines?

You could do something like this with one of the rule engines (Rule Machine if you already had it, SmartRules on iOS, or the upcoming rule engine in progress). Using IFTTT, there may be a delay with those virtual switches (certain programs with IFTTT have a large delay, others show almost none)

Arlo direct integration is coming and will allow a bit more to be done (such as possibly using Arlo motion detection in Smart Lighting)

Ah cool re the Arlo Integration post.

I’m fairly new to Smartthings so missed the RuleMachine smart app. I have SmartRules but my understanding is this only works off Smartthings and not Arlo. How is one supposed to trigger a Smartthings thing from an Arlo motion detection??

You would set up a virtual switch so that Arlo Motion Detection would turn on that Virtual Switch via IFTTT.
Then in SmartRules, you would set up the rule to be started by that Virtual Switch turning on and ending after X minutes.

I use a similar thing for my new text message alert via IFTTT. If I get a new text, it turns on a virtual switch. I have a rule in Rule Machine that will turn my Hue Bloom lights green if that virtual switch gets turned on, giving me a visual notification of the new text. Then I just have a routine to reset all of my IFTTT notifications (I also have one for missed calls and 2 others that can be added in for later use).

Yes…

Ooooohh I see. I’ll give this a try tomorrow!! Thanks. Is SmartRules free?

For 1 rule as a demo version.
You must pay for the full version.