Need Help: Trying To Record Event Times And Text Those At Later Time

Developers:

I am a total newbie and have been trying to mash up bits and pieces from available apps to create what I’m trying to do. I haven’t been able to get it to work and wanted to see if some of the more experienced developers could give me some guidance.

Here’s want I’m trying to do:

1. Select a motion sensor
  2. Select a phone number to text to
  3. Select a start time of day to monitor the “active” state of the motion sensor
  4. Select an end time of day to stop monitoring the “active” state of the motion sensor
  5. Select a time of day to send a text with the times during the window defined by 3 and 4 above when motion occurred.

I want to log the times of day within the start-end time window when motion is detected. I have teenagers in the house and it seems like I wake up to find then up and wandering around when they ought to be sleeping. I’d like to record those times and then get a text message at say 9:00AM which lists the times when the motion sensor was active. If it is a quiet night and the set the start time at midnight and the end time at 6:00AM, I would expect I should see not logs of in the text message of the motion sensor being active.

In the code I tried to write (shown below) I assumed there would be no more than 6 instances of the motion sensor going active. There’s probably a much more elegant way to make an array where I wouldn’t be limited by a number but that is way beyond my coding skills. Also, I tried to but a 300 second delay after the motion sensor goes active so I wouldn’t log essentially the same roving teenager event.

Again any points or portions or the entirety are very welcome.

Thanks,
GilS

/**
 *  TimesMovingAtNight
 *  Author: gil.schmitt.public@gmail.com
 *  Date: 2013-09-02
 */
preferences {
	section("Motion Sensor") {
		input "motion1", "capability.motionSensor", title: "Pick your Motion Sensor"
	}
    section("Text me at..."){