Moisture sensor in new app

In the past I have used a smart things moisture sensor with wires soldered on to the contacts, and connected to a pressure pad, to operate as a chair sensor, to alert when someone gets up from a chair.
This was done in the IDE and would change the alert sent from the moisture sensor from wet or dry to vacant or occupied.
This was set up from the classic app, under the “Smart home monitor” then custom tab.
Is there a way to do this in the new smart things app? I have explored it as far as my experience allows but whatever I change the text to in the IDE the alert sent is always wet or dry.
Im not a programmer or anything (I work in adult care) in case anyone wonders why I would need a chair pad.
so hopefully if there is a way to achieve what I need it won’t be too challenging.
Thanks for looking

Have you tried using that device in an automation in the new app to see what capabilities it exposes? from the home screen, tap + in the upper right and choose Automation.

1 Like

Hi thanks for the reply
yes I have been through all the smart apps and automation without success
The wording still says wet or dry

not sure what you mean by wording? In the automation creator you type your own notification.

1 Like

I’m not entirely sure I have got the right end of the stick here, but …

A moisture sensor device handler will be built around the Water Sensor capability. That is defined with a single attribute water, which is allowed to have the value wet or dry. However much you dress it up, all that remains true.