If x AND Y, then

Apologies if this is covered already, but searching didn’t reveal anything useful.

I’m trying to control my pond pump so that it only turns off after midnight, and only between 35° and 85°. So I need If (time) and (temp) then….

I picked up a GE/Jasco outdoor module that works just fine with ST. I have time based triggers. I have temp based triggers. But I don’t have both, together. I also can’t imagine that:

1. IF X AND Y logic isn’t already present in some cases in ST (for example: presence detection. IF A & B are absent, set to away)
  2. It isn’t wildly useful for many many other things.

Now, I’m a tech guy, really. But I’m not a programmer. And more to the point for the long term success of ST with non-technical user adoption, it seems entirely unreasonable to me that I might need to learn Groovy in order to get this functionality.

Yeah, for now, I think the only way to to do what you want is writing your own app.

Maybe you can get something going with IFTTT?

IFTTT is also limited to one IF. I’ve been trying to figure a two step method of doing it, but it immediately becomes cumbersome. Especially since IFTTT can’t access or change ST modes.

Steve28, you say “for now.”

Any idea how long “now” is? 3 months? 6 months? 4 years?

I am also forced to once again mention that “writing your own app” is absolutely not the answer ST needs if you guys ever hope to sell to the broader consumer market.

I’m on the same boat, technical but not programming savvy. My ST gadgets are limited to time, spotty presence, sun/rise/set, and a manual push of a button every now and then.

I am also forced to once again mention that “writing your own app” is absolutely not the answer ST needs if you guys ever hope to sell to the broader consumer market.