iBlinds vs Tilt Smart Home (Mysmartblinds) comparison

I bought 5 Mysmartblinds (since renamed Tilt) plus solar panels during their Kickstarter days so I’ve had 3 years of experience with them. I just bought and installed 5 iBlinds for other blinds in my house after waiting years for Tilt to implement ST integration (I even bought their hub). I now think that’s a lost cause. Anyways I thought I’d do a quick comparison between the two.

Price: iBlinds regular price is $159, but they are constantly having $99 sales. This price does not include the solar panel which is $20. Tilt retails at $149 and includes a solar panel in that price. However with Tilt you need to buy a $89 hub to integrate the system with Alexa. iBlinds has direct ST integration via Z-Wave so there’s no need to purchase anything else (and no DTHs to mess around with).

Unboxing and accessories included: very similar between the two. iBlinds includes a long micro USB charging cable and power adapter while Tilt doesn’t. It’s a small gesture but a nice touch.

Installation difficulty is very similar for both. One negative for iBlinds is that it requires you to completely do away with the cord for tilting the blinds. Instead there is a button to manually control them. This makes it difficult for short people/tall windows. Also the motor fit very snugly inside the blinds header. This will be different for each brand of blinds, but for me it interferes with the string controlling the blinds retraction function. In my Hunter Douglas blinds this string runs diagonally which doesn’t work great with the straight across channel iBlinds put on the bottom of the motor. I had to change out the motor fitting for my blinds’ shape of rod which was included in the box. iBlinds has all of these installation videos on their YouTube channel, similar to Tilt.