How to record and use a state?

Hi Everyone,
So I’m very new to all this but I’m trying write a device handler for a Smartenit ZBLC15 (4033a) dual relay to operate motorized blinds.

The blinds have a dry contact for up and one for down that needs a momentary close. Stop is achieved by closing either of the contacts. Excuse my ignorance if I’m wrong here but I’m calling these my 3 states on the blind controller: up, down and stop.

I’ve copied and pasted a few bits together to write a device handler that will momentarily close the up or down dry contacts. My problem is that if you press up once and the blind goes all the way to the motor limit you need to press down twice to get it to go down. ie. state changes to stop on the first press and down on the second. I want to get all my blinds on scenes so this is a problem as if the blind controller is not in the stop state then a scene to put the blinds up will only change the state to stop if the last thing it did was go all the way down to the motor limit.

The only way I can think of to get around this is to record the state somehow and then return the blind controller to stop (after it has had enough time to go all the way up or down) using if and delay functions. I’ve tried a few times with no luck so I’m hoping someone here might be able to point me in the right direction. I’ve included the code for the momentary up and down that works quite well (for my first device handler at least).

metadata {
    definition (name: "Dual-Relay Controller blinds 3", namespace: "", author: "") {
        capability "Actuator"
        capability "Configuration"
        capability "Refresh"
        capability "Switch"

command "on1"
        command "off1"
        command "on2"
        command "off2"
        command "up1"
        command "down1"

attribute "switch1","ENUM", ["on","off"]
        attribute "switch2","ENUM", ["on","off"]

fingerprint profileId: "0104", inClusters: "0000, 0003, 0004, 0005, 0006"