How to make preferences and settings require dimmer value when a selected switch happens to have that capability?

Does anyone know how have preferences and settings ask for dimmer value when a selected switch happens to have that capability?
I know this is possible because the routines always ask for the desired dimmer values when there’s at least one dimming capable device in a list of selected switches.

here is how it looks like in my desperate attempts…

input (name: "controlEDSwitch", type: "capability.switch", title: "control these swithces ", multiple: true, required: true, submitOnChange: true)
           if(controlEDSwitch) {
                if(device?.typeName?.equalsIgnoreCase("Dimmer")){

input (name: "SetLevel", type: "number", range: "1..100", title: "Set $controlEDSwitch level to this value", required: true, default: 50)
                }
            }
        }

I’m fairly new to this myself, but here’s some pointers:

(1) that input needs to be part of a dynamicPage() so that the if statement
gets executed when you go to that preferences page
(2) to figure out whether the switch supports setLevel, you probably should use capabilities: Something like
if (controlEDswitch.capabilities.contains(capability.switchLevel) ... (haven’t tried this, though)
(3) You probably want the SetLevel option to appear right away after you select a dimmer as the controlEDSwitch, you should be able to achieve this using “submitOnChange: true” on the switch input line

1 Like

Thanks a lot @KG72.

It seems that it doesn’t work (and yes, it’s all in a dynamic page). But it looks like I’m getting closer. Let me know if you can make this work.

Elfège.

This works for me:

input (name: "controlEDSwitch", type: "capability.switch", title: "control these swithces ",
            	required: true, submitOnChange: true)
//           	if (controlEDSwitch &&
//            	controlEDSwitch.capabilities*.name.contains("Switch Level")) {