Help with a zigbee thermostat device handler

Hi.

I’m completely new to this and a total noob, but I like to thinker with things so…

I have an Elko thermostat that works very well with smartthings, (Zigbee device) but there is a small flaw in the device handler.
The guy who made the device handler wasn’t sure what value he was getting, so he assumed it was “Watts”. It is a number from 0 and 2000, reported every 600 seconds and it is in fact how many 1/3 seconds the thermostat has been heating the last 10 minutes. (heating all the time = 2000, Heating half the time = 1000)

1. Is there any way I can take this number and divide it by 3.333 to get “seconds active last 600 seconds” and multiply it by x (I know my floors power consumption) to get “wattseconds last 10 minutes” Then multiply it with 3600 to get Kwh?
    Is it possible to do math in the device handler?

2. Can I get this new number to accumulate so the next 10 minutes adds to the last, and I have a working energymeter on my thermostat?
    This will need the device handler to log and add up a value. Is it supported?
    I assume my other energy measuring devices logs the energy in the device and just reports it to the device handler.

If you have the code of the DTH, then you can change anything. You just need some groovy programming skills.

1 Like

Yes you can do that.

You can take the value you got and convert it to float and perform your computation.

Example: I take here a temperature temp_cal_float that is a text and compute something with it:
/ Real feel indoor temperature
float realfeel= temp_cal_float.toFloat()+0.348emc_humid6.105Math.exp((17.27temp_cal_float.toFloat())/(237.7+temp_cal_float.toFloat()))-4.25

1. Yes you can do Maths. I assume you mean 0.3 seconds rather than 1/3 seconds. I’d just multiply by 1080 and then multiply by ‘x’ myself.