Google Home as School Bell System

Greetings ST community! I’ve been lurking and learning for a week or so. I stumbled in while searching for a what I was sure was going to be a no brainer off-the-shelf function: Play synchronized chime along with a custom phrase on a detailed schedule. Well, maybe not so easy, but still worth the effort of learning a whole new set of skills for me. This could end up being a really cool school bell system with all kinds of other potentials down the road for charter school that I work for. (I’m a teacher resident at the moment)

I have a few ideas how to implement, and I’ll be detailing them as I go, but I have a feeling there are some folks who know more about what’s available/possible/feasible, so I thought I’d put it out there. I’m willing to work at it, but ultimately this has to be pretty simple to maintain and operate day-to-day.

So, if you had a GH speaker in ~20 classrooms and wanted them to at the minimum play a few custom chimes on a schedule that rotates daily (A day, B day, minimum day, etc.) Even better than just chimes wold be chime + custom announcement ( [binnng] “Block Five” ) How would you go about it? Seems like there could be all kinds of combinations of bits for each segment of the job and I suspect that there is still a lot more I can learn. Thanks!

1 Like

Well excellebt excitement and enthusiasm and awesome that you want to do things for your school. My entire family is in education, Im in education IT and I applaud it

That said before I answer how, I’d first say, I wouldn’t do it. Primarily, because the SmartThings TOS specifically says the system is not intended to be used in commercial settings. (for profit or nonprofit).ST is simply not reliable enough to be used in that setting and they have zero need to beef the back end to the point it would be.l because the TOS specifically excludes that use case.