Generator Monitoring?

Hi - Looking to use a Multi-Sensor to monitor when my generator kicks in and kicks off. I have a natural gas standby generator and can use the vibration sensors on the multi-sensors to report movement, exactly like the Laundry Monitor app works. The only thing about the Laundry App is it only notifies you when it’s done, not when it starts. Any ideas how I can tweak the app to alert me when it turns on as well?

Use the mailbox app. I had to change out the multisense to a regular open/close sensor on my mailbox because every time a loud truck(garbage truck school bus, motorcycle) went by it would go off. Should work fine for a generator away from the road.

Thanks. The only issue is the mailbox app texts instead of using a push notification. I wish I can change that…

Ok. Try under dashboard, damage and danger, the alert when moved should work

Yes that will work and notify me via push when generator kicks on, but not when it stops.

Well, I’m no programmer so I’m out of ideas, maybe use danger and damage to tell you when it starts and laundry app to tell you when it stops. Not clean but a workaround.

Thanks. Sounds like it will work. What’s another app??!!!

The issue with the danger alerts is they happen every minute. I just ran my generator for 10 minutes and I got several alerts. The laundry app works perfect when the generator finishes. Anyone have the groovy code for the laundry app? I can probably reverse it.