GE Dimmer (12724) flashes full brightness after fade out

I am new to SmartThings and home automation and having problems with my first switch. Of course, this isn’t helping me sell my family on the wonders of the connected home.

I have a GE Dimmer Paddle Switch (Z-Wave) 12724 wired to 6 dimmable BR30 style LEDs mounted in the ceiling.

• When I tap the top of switch to turn on the lights, they turn on as expected.
  • When I tap the bottom of the switch to turn off the lights, they fade off, but then are briefly at full brightness before turning off. This instant flash of light is unpleasant.

I had the switch installed by an electrician during a basement finishing project, so assuming was correct. This behavior existed before I even had it connected to the SmartThings hub. It is now connected to the hub, and the on/off behavior in the SmartThings app is the same as the physical switch.

So, how do I fix this? I would like on to turn on instantly and off to turn off instantly. Is this a hardware problem with the switch or something I can set. Something I can do on the switch itself, or something I need to code? I am a software developer so not afraid of a code based solution, but have never programmed anything on the hub.

I would love any tips to help me resolve this.

There is some work on this and it will help a little but there won’t be I instant on/off. It’s a hardware thing.

1 Like

I had a similar issue, wasn’t flashing but was noticeable stepping, almost stuttering. I am using the LED bulbs you get at Costco (Leit) and they work well, especially for the price. Nearly the same as the 3x more expensive GEs I have.

If you want instant on/off I would replace the switch with a GE on/off model (its not that hard). I do like the soft on/off of the dimmers that is why I have them on most my lights. You can use the custom device handler to program near instant on, but try a small ramp up.