"Field Error" in SmartApp

(Chris Coslor) #1

I’'ve written a custom Device Type (largely just stubbed out right now), and a SmartApp to use it. The device looks OK in the simulator, though it doesn’t do anything yet. But when I try to run the app, I get the enclosed error.

I’ve seen references to this kind of error in a few forum topics, but never with a clear description of exactly what’s failing. I’m just starting out with this stuff, so I’m sure I’m doing something wrong, but the message isn’t exactly descriptive. A complaint about a null Device name sounds like a sane guess, but as far as I can tell, it has a name.

Any ideas?

The error is:
grails.validation.ValidationException: Validation Error(s) occurred during save():

Field error in object ‘physicalgraph.device.Device’ on field ‘name’:
rejected value [null]; codes
[physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.error.physicalgraph.device.Device.name,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.error.name,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.error.java.lang.String,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.error,device.name.nullable.error.physicalgraph.device.Device.name,device.name.nullable.error.name,device.name.nullable.error.java.lang.String,device.name.nullable.error,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.physicalgraph.device.Device.name,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.name,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable.java.lang.String,physicalgraph.device.Device.name.nullable,device.name.nullable.physicalgraph.device.Device.name,device.name.nullable.name,device.name.nullable.java.lang.String,device.name.nullable,nullable.physicalgraph.device.Device.name,nullable.name,nullable.java.lang.String,nullable];
arguments [name,class physicalgraph.device.Device]; default message
[{0} cannot be null]

(Chris Coslor) #2