FAQ: SmartThings international function

Hello all. I am fairly new to the HA field, and I have been extensively researching and settled upon smartthings as my number 1 choice for a smart hub. However, I live in the Caribbean and I am just curious about one thing in particular.

I realise thst there are US, UK and other z-wave frequencies etc. so my question is : if I buy a US version of the smarthub and all US accessories (sensors etc), will it work even though I am outside of the US? I know that buying UK “Things” won’t work with a US hub, so I’m just curious. Do I need to be literally in the US or can I just buy all US components and expect the system to function as advertised.

EDIT : Also where I am from, we have the same specs as the US (110-120 v 50-60 hz).

ZWAVE VARIES BY COUNTRY

Zwave frequencies are different in different countries because different countries use different frequencies for things like ambulance communications, cordless phones, and mobile phones. Zwave frequencies are licensed for ranges that will not interfere with these local communications.

For this reason, it may be illegal to use US Z wave frequencies in a country that reserves those frequencies for, say, ambulance communications. So it’s not just a technical issue.

All of that said, much of the Caribbean uses the US frequencies anyway. And in 2015, a number of South American countries also adopted the US frequencies. This was a change from their previous assignments.

So if your region uses US frequencies, you’re fine with the regular smartthings version.

If your region does not use US frequencies, you need to check locally to see if there are any legal restrictions against using the US frequencies.

If there are no legal restrictions, and nothing local that will interfere with the communications, then as long as the hub and the devices use the same frequency so they should be able to talk to each other.