[Edge drivers] Creation of new devices in the wrong room

Hi. Just setting up to use this driver. When I first installed it, my SmartThings hub location in SmartThings was in my “Bedroom” room, and therefore the Creator device was installed in Bedroom also. After reading other posts, I created a new room called “Smarts” and moved the ST Hub and Creator there. Unfortunately when I create a new virtual device, it still creates it in Bedroom. I have deleted the Creator and completely removed the driver, re-booted ST Hub, cleared ST app cache and reinstalled everything. Although when adding the creator device, it says it has added it to the Smarts room, it still shows up in Bedroom and subsequent virtual devices are still created in Bedroom. I can always move them back to Smarts, but is there any way I can get new virtual devices to create in my Smarts room?

Hi this sounds like a SmartThings platform issue and not something the driver has control over.

@nayelyz , is this something you can comment on please?

Hi, @mmcmillan
It’s possible the “old” room where the Hub was is still present somewhere, so, I’ll open a report, can you provide the following, please?

  1. Confirm the email account registered in the forum is the same one you use for SmartThings. If not, please share it with me over DM
  2. Enable support access to your account:
  1. Go to the SmartThings Web (my.smartthings.com)
  2. Log in to your Samsung Account
  3. Select Menu (⋮) and choose Settings
  4. Toggle on Account Data Access
  5. Select the time period and confirm - In this step, please select “Until turned off”, once the team finishes, we’ll let you know so you can disable it again.
  1. Create a new device take note of the time when you perform this action and share it with me. Eg. 17:17 CST
  2. Share the name of the new device created to get its ID and add it to the report.

Same is happening to me as well. I just got the Aeotec v3 hub. Devices were first going to the room I was adding them within. Now they all go to the Living room, regardless of what room I select before attempting to add a new device. I am wondering what the resolution was. Thank you

Update: it’s apparently adding new devices to the room the Aeotec resides, if that helps. Whatever room I move the Aeotec to, it’s the time a newly added device goes

Hi, @SuperBob
Once your device is discovered, you can see a button that says “edit” at the right of the device’s name. There, you can change its name, the room where it will reside and set it as a favorite if you want. Have you tried that?

Yes, that’s what I do. However, even if the room was just created and has the Card in it to say Add a new device, it will still put it in the room where the hub resides. That worked as I began setting up the new hub, but now does not exhibit that initial behavior. Not a big deal, but figured I’d report it. I am in the middle is switching back to ST after 5 years of being on Hubitat. I originally moved to Hubitat because I was so big in Rule Machine and when Bruce left ST, I followed him. However in recent examination of ST I had liked what I was seeing and decided to give it another try :slight_smile:

4 Likes

ok, I see what you mean. I’ll create a report for the corresponding team. Thank you for sharing!

3 Likes