Door Left Open for "X" Min = Mode Change

I’m new to ST and I’m trying to find a way to have my AC change its setting if a door is left open for X minutes. I’ve decided an easy way is to create a “door open” mode and change the AC settings within it. But my issue is that I can’t find where I can trigger a mode change based on a door being open for X minutes (using a door contact) - I can only find alerts for that. Anyone have any ideas?

You probably want an App to set a timer to change to the door open mode in x minutes when you get the door open event, then cancel the timer if you see a door closed event.

That sounds like it would work. Do you know if a timer app already exists? Where can I find apps that others have written and posted to the site?

You could probably review my modified app for door left open (with repeating alerts) and adjust for your needs. I think your magic will need to happen somewhere in line 66 or 68 (based on my version 1.3.1 code).

To simply change modes, you will need setLocationMode(“modename”) or
def doorleftopenmode = "modename"
setLocationMode(doorleftopenmode)

You could also look at Virtual switch to change mode to get an idea of changing home modes.

If you need to run actions that you have defined in a Hello Home phrase (adjust lights, thermostats, home modes, etc), and I think this is what you are wanting, you could call out to that phrase using: location.helloHome.execute(“hello home phrase here”).
For example:
def myHHPhrase = "Nice Outside"
location.helloHome.execute(myHHPhrase)

Thanks Brian. I’ve tried copying in the code but I’m new to this. It’s not working for me. In a nutshell, what you sent is very close to what I need. I just need an app to change the thermostat temperature after a door contact has been open for X amount of minutes. An option to also change to a different mode what that occurs would be good too. Any help is appreciated.

Should be fairly simple to do.