Dimmers that can be disabled/enabled?

Hi there,

I’m new to this whole smart home thing, and have a question that I’m hoping someone can help with!

I just moved to a new home, and when I had Vivint security set up, I also got a few smart home components added to the system. Now I’m hooked and want to add some other items myself – it seems that any zwave components would be compatable? The first thing I’m interested in is adding smart dimmers for our lights, but I have a special requirement for my 2-year-old daughter’s room.

Her new favorite hobby is turning her overhead lights on at night instead of going to sleep. I finally switched off the entire circuit to her room the other night and lo and behold, once she couldn’t turn the lights on anymore, she went right to sleep. I would love to be able to replicate this without needing the entire circuit off, though, as there are other electrically-powered items in her room (e.g. baby monitor camera) I’d like to keep on.

I am wondering if there’s some sort of smart dimmer switch that allows override/disabling. In other words, I’d love be able to disable the physical light switch at night so she can’t turn it on – but retain the ability to turn it on low via my phone if I need to come take her to the bathroom in the night or whatnot, and re-enable the switch for daytime use.

What do you think? Does something like this exist? And would I be able to connect it to my Vivint system and control it with that app? I’ve been really happy with the experience of using the app with my locks/cameras/doorbell/Nests, but I’m not sure how it will work with other smart items. If I’m in the wrong forum for this sort of thing, any suggestions of where else to post would be highly appreciated as well.

Thanks so much for all your help!!

Carolyn

(Ben W) #2

You can always try pulling the air gap out on a smart switch. This will disable the switch, but you will lose the ability to control it with automation.