Devolo Home Control Kit

(Andrew Palmer) #1

Hi, I’m a current Smart Things and Hue owner but I’ve just been sent a whole pile of Devolo’s Home Control gear to test for a website review. There’s a Starter Pack, Smoke Detector, Motion Sensor, Wall Switch, Radiator Thermostat, Room Thermostat, Key fob switch. It’s all Z-Wave stuff AFAIK.

I’m certainly no developer but if there’s anything I can do to help check out compatibility between Smart Things and Home Control, let me know. I’ll be having a tinker myself, but I’m not experienced in the development side of things.

(Aaron S) #2

If they use standard Z-Wave protocols, you might be able to just pair them using Marketplace>Connect New Device. Note - you may need to exclude them before they will pair.

Let us know how it works!

(James) #3

I’m currently looking at the Devolo sensors. Did you get the Devolo kit to work with SmartThings Andrew?

(Wayne) #4

@Andrew_Palmer has not been seen on this forum since that post. Maybe the devolo system is so good that he’s jumped ship!

(Andrew Palmer) #5

No, it’s not that good! I’m still reviewing all the functionality but there’s a hardware review here with a few pics. http://geeknewscentral.com/2016/03/21/devolo-home-control-hardware-review/

Broadly, Devolo have rebranded other Z-wave components, so the elements I have tried usually work, but sometimes with reduced functionality, eg door switch works but don’t get temperature.

Software wise, there’s no native app and it’s driven via a mobile version of their web portal. SmartThings app is much better.

If there’s anything specific anyone wants to know, give me a shout.

Andrew

(Andrew Palmer) #6

Just a quick update…my review of the Devolo Home Control is here:

Overall, it’s a good first attempt with a few rough edges.