Control Z-Wave deadbolt lock from Monoprice?

(Jerry Hatchett) #1

Hi folks,

As mentioned in another topic, I’m an HA noob, so any patience is appreciated. I’m very techy, just not up to speed on this yet.

I have a Z-Wave deadbolt from Monoprice. Installed. Works fine, but the instructions for the lock, which are minimal to say the least, say that the Z-Wave Interface Controller must be used to program users and codes for the lock. The Android ST app sees the lock just fine, and locks and unlocks it without a hitch, but is there a way to exercise more control, like programming codes into the lock?

Big thanks in advance!

Chop

Is anyone using Monoprice Z-Wave devices?
Current Device Deals & Best Prices (link to new thread at bottom of thread)
(Pat) #2

My understanding is that programming users and codes isn’t going to happen anytime soon.

However, I am pleased to hear that you were able to get it to lock and unlock fine! I purchased one to play around with and couldn’t get it to do that, so I returned it. Maybe I will have to revisit that. Good luck!

(Jerry Hatchett) #3

Big thanks for the reply!

(DLee) #4

There is a lock code programming smartapp in the IDE under Smartthings labs. Haven’t tried it. Let us know if it works.

(Edward Pope) #5

Yes, in the IDE there is a Change Lock Code app. It works with my Schlage lock very well. I am working to modify it to support temporary codes, or codes that work only at certain times.

Basically go to the IDE, create a test SmartApp, and then on the left hand side of the page, you should see a pull down that allows you to browse the various smartapps. Have fun :smile:

(Jerry Hatchett) #6

Thx, guys. Headed there now!

(Jerry Hatchett) #7

No luck here, guys. Still unable to create, edit, or delete a user code on the Monoprice Z-Wave deadbolt. I’ve tried the app in the labs section, as well as a similar one in the safety and security section.

(Edward Pope) #8