Concerns about Direction of Developer Workspace

Since few weeks, I’m very perplex on the new road taken by Samsung & SmartThings.

Recent weeks are painful

Unlike before, in the recent weeks, the platform started to be very unstable. Pretty often I’m getting some annoying unexpected glitches like unresponsibe hub, smartapp doing nothing, big delays, etc… I know it’s probably due to the big migration to a whole new system and I understand it should come back to normal. I hope.

How to develop quick things?

But where I’m perplex is about the new developping model. I wasn’t fan of the groovy language and the very poor IDE of SmartThings, but it was doing the job pretty fine. I’m a C# developer and I want to use my expertise to develop things, so that’s why I was very excited by the new APIs of Samsung Connect.

Unable to find a quick way

I started reading the documentation and, after a while, I realize many pieces are missing to build something quick. In the previous version, few lines of groovy, you click publish and your can try it right now… In the new version, you need to write a device (not sure I inderstand how yet… see below), write a plug-in, sign the whole thing, get approved by ST and… you will publish on a portal totally unrelated with your current ST installation.

Maybe I’m too soon and I need to wait… but when I read the documentation, I realize it’s far more complicated than before to do custom things.

My sample project

Let me describe my project… I want to build something on top of a Raspberry Pi, using Windows IoT and some GPIO hardware. The hardware portion is working well, now I need to connect it to ST. In previous version of ST, we could just use UPNP and a controller smartapp and it’s working well. With the new interface ? I’m not sure it’s easy. Let me described what I tried…

Trying using “cloud-connected” devices