[Obsolete] Club Steve's AutoLock

Hey guys,

There’s another thread floating around where I’ve tossed around this SmartApp. There has been enough good feedback that I think it deserves its own thread. Please provide feedback and suggestions. Thanks!!

I’ve added a bit of intelligence for failed lock attempt notifications, and retries. I created this a very long time ago, and I’m not a real programmer, so feel free to pick it apart and laugh.

-SS

Before anyone asks, the Club Steve moniker wasn’t really chosen by me. Friends just always called me that because of my obsession with kilowatt-level subwoofers stuffed anywhere I can. My house has lasers, fog, spotlights, an a theater in the middle of a blacked-out living room… the name just stuck.

1 Like

I too have had problems with locks auto locking with various rules and apps in the past, so I will check this out. One thing I noticed already was that it didn’t send me a push notification when I entered in bad lock codes. My Device type supports it and it did show in the activity log that failed codes were entered. I had DEBUG logging off though. Any ideas?

I never added it. Good feature to look into though! Basically I created this (feels like two years ago now,) because nothing existed to auto-lock our doors with any intelligence. The available solutions at the time would cause my deadbolt to hit the door jam when closed sometimes, and just not lock reliably.

The idea was really just to have a lightweight, reliable auto-locking solution. I know there are more advanced smartapps out there like the lock code managers that might even have some/all of this logic.