Capturing Motion and door multisensor sequence to turn a light on based on direction of travel?

I am a newbie and haven’t used the groovy programming I am currently trying to learn though. I want to know which way i’m coming to a door using the motion sensor and the door contact switch to turn on the porch light when i’m leaving. I used one of the sample programs to turn a light on with motion and tried to add the contact switch and add some IF AND logic but I was unsuccessful. In the example they used a motionhandler EVT I tried to alter the result of the motionhandler EVT if the door was closed but that didn’t work either.

Are you using WebCore? or Smart apps?
Mike

Smart apps

Let’s try this
open Smartthings
on the bottom tap automation
then Smart Lighting
If you do not have it installed tap Marketplace
then tap lights & Switches
first entry should be Smart Lighting tap it
then follow the in apps steps.
Which light select then tap done in rt corner
Then select trigger
You can use a motion sensor or if you tap open/ close
then tap the door sensor
you can add more options at this time
if done continue to tap Done Or Save in the rt corner till it is saved to smartthings.
Hope this will help you
I will say this some of the Smartthings apps do not work real well so you may want to look at WebCore.
Mike

Webcore is essentially a scripting language for SmartThings, it’s likely to be your best bet anytime you want a stacked conditional.

That said, from a network engineering point of view I feel obligated to point out that SmartThings primarily uses mesh networks, Z wave and Zigbee. These do not guarantee forced sequencing. Messages can and do bounce around the network a little bit before they are delivered to the hub, which means getting very precise timing for anything under one minute is often difficult.