Can't Get First App tutorial to work... real or simulated

(Mark) #1

Hi

I am not a programmmer, but have an incompatible SmartThing I would like to use but needs a device handler and an app, so I thought I would have look at doing it myself. I’m aware of programming principles, but it isn’t my day job.

I have been through the my First SmartApp tutorial and everything was working fine until I tried to add a timescale to an event. The event being turning a light off if no movement has been detected after x number of minutes.

When I run the simulator using an actual switch and motion sensor ( can’t get the virtual ones in the simulator to work at all) the light switches on as expected, but does not turn off.

The last entry in the log is:

3b440f54-2bf8-4259-aa16-ce635fc4f61d 15:25:01 GMT: debug Motion has not stayed inactive long enough since last check (59156 ms): doing nothing

This has been like this for 20 minutes now and I set the switch to turn off after 1 minute.

In the end I copied and pasted the case in full direct from the tutorial, and got the same result, so it wasn’t a typo error on my part.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Full code below:

Thanks

Mark

/**
 *  Tutorial
 *  Copyright 2016 Mark Haddock
 *  Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except
 *  in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at:
 *      http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
 *  Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed
 *  on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License
 *  for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.
 */
definition(
        name: "My First SmartApp",
        namespace: "mygithubusername",
        author: "Peter Gregory",
        description: "This is my first SmartApp. Woot!",