[OBSOLETE] Kodi/XBMC Callback Endpoint for Light Control

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to the Smartthings community. One of my first objectives with my new toys was to integrate light controls to my Kodi media centers. Thanks to the community I got up and running, but none of the solutions I could find were very full-featured or easy to set up. I decided to code myself a better SmartApp for my own use and figured I would share it with all of you.

This app is designed to control lighting based on four main events in Kodi: play, pause, resume, and stop. Currently it allows you to select which lights you would like to control and set a lighting (dim) level for each event. It also supports restoring the lights to their last known level set outside of this app.

In order to accomplish this the app exposes URL endpoints including a security token for each event type and provides them to the user in a easy to copy/paste format (no more messing with REST endpoint examples and php files). Those endpoints need to be called by Kodi when the events occur. For this we use the kodi.callbacks plugin .

A few things have changed since initial release. This app is now actually two apps, a parent and a child app. The “main” app provides URLs and receives callbacks. The child app represents a grouping of lights. This allows you to have multiple groups of lights set at different levels from one event in Kodi. KenV99 has also created a new Kodi callbacks plugin that adds some features and works better in the newer builds of Kodi. He has been very active in replying to any issues on the plugin’s forum thread and I recommend everyone switch from the old xbmc callbacks2 plugin to this new one.

Install should go like this:

1. Install both SmartApp’s code under My SmartApps (New SmartApp>From Code)