Best Way to Learn Programming for the SmartThings Platform

(Steve) #1

Hey Everyone,

I am new to Smart Things, and I would really like to get involved as a developer. I have very minimal programming experience. Is the best way to learn Java first, and then learn Groovy? Or is it better to just jump right in to Groovy. I understand basic concepts like what a class is, what a variable is, etc.

I’m very excited to jump into this world, and look forward to any advice you guys can give =)

Welcome!

You can do either, but to be honest, you probably don’t need to do either one. SmartThings provides a very limited set of programming options, it’s not even a full groovy implementation. And you can’t upload your own libraries. So you can learn pretty much everything you would need to just from the official developer docs. :sunglasses: Just click on the “developer documentation” link at the top right of the screen on the first page of this forum. ( go to the top of this page, and click on “community” and that should take you to the first page of the form. Then click on “developer documentation” at the top right.)

And if you’re primarily interested in the practical side, you may not need even that. Webcore is a very powerful rules engine created by the community and essentially acts as a scripting language for SmartThings. I would suggest you start out learning how to use that. People have done some pretty amazing stuff with it and there are lots of community members will be glad to help you. They even have their own forum. And it can do much more than the official features. By using webcore, you will learn a lot about what SmartThings can do and you will be able to create very complex rule sets, including web hooks to outside servers if that’s what you’re looking for.

If you want to write your own device type handlers, see the following thread (this is a clickable link)