Begging for Onkyo Help

Let me lead off that I am not a programmer - I know enough to be dangerous - and the programmers in my life don’t work in languages similar enough to Groovy to be helpful anytime soon.

Allan Klein wrote a Device Handler for Onkyo Receivers 3 years ago that overall works pretty well. It has tiles for the different inputs that are configurable, etc. However, as tiles, they cannot be addressed in automations. I was reading up on the Composite Devices functionality, and that seems to me to be the solution. I have read the tutorial repeatedly, and stared blankly at the Groovy code, and I still don’t have a clue even where to start.

Could someone with Composite Device Handler experience take a few minutes to convert the tiles into addressable devices? I’d be forever grateful.

Allan’s code: https://github.com/allanak/SmartThings/blob/master/onkyoIP.groovy
Tutorial I’ve been reading: https://docs.smartthings.com/en/latest/composite-devices/index.html

1 Like

I’m not an expert coder either. However, I did take a peek at the DH. Do you use WebCore? I believe you could get at the functionality already in the DH via WebCore, with no or very little change to the DH. It looks like there is a list of commands exposed. These are the same commands the tiles access. I think that because they are listed as commands you can use them in WebCore which will allow all manner of automations.

capability "Switch"
capability "Music Player"
command "cable"
command "stb"
command "pc"
command "net"
command "aux"
command "z2on"
command "z2off"
command "makeNetworkId", ["string","string"]
}

I have not used WebCore yet, no. I’m running through the tutorial now. Yeah, it looks like I could create virtual switches, then trigger the different inputs via WebCore. Thanks for the breadcrumbs!

It’s going to be a learning curve, but I have the basic functionality working now with WebCore. Thanks, so much!